Studio 2 – Illustrative Idea

Over-thinking the idea

I like flat design, and illustration digitally, so i used it.

I had a lot of ideas for these posters. One thing I really wanted to do was make all the posters connect together, (illustratively and subliminally) with design, colours, etc. My main concept was to add a film border/overlay over the top of the illustrations just to tie it in relation to film and actually subliminally add a message for those that look at it enough.

With my art, I really love having meanings and messages within it. I like adding interest. That’s what art is about.. Most people just draw art and sell it for thousands of dollars because “I d k fuck you.” With my interest in art, I want people to keep coming back for more, seeing new things within it every time they look.

So that’s why i add subliminal and small details you don’t notice as much within my art. The message I had in mind was to use the ‘film recorder overlay’ over the top of each design to get that film look and also have timers on each one (the one how it shows how much you’ve been recording). When you look at all of these, and look at them in order with the quotes in mind, you will see the message inside the design.

The overlay would look something like this (but with an illustration)

IDEa

 

 

My quotes

With the quotes, I wanted to direct them at film makers, directors, actors, and mainly everything to do with film. One of the things Heidi told me was that “film makers and everyone in film must work together. We are a working together discipline, that’s why we are different from other areas at SAE.”

So with that, I continued my tying in idea with the quotes, and the posters all-together. I put a lot.. A LOT of thought into them all and the concepts behind them..

Here is a lot of my quotes, some i didnt use, some i did.

Good ideas will survive. -I cant remember

You can’t do it unless you can imagine it.
– george_lucas

Everybody has talent, it’s just a matter of moving around until you’ve discovered what it is.
– George Lucas

Imagination is a force that can actually manifest a reality. Don’t put limitations on yourself. Others will do that for you.
– James Cameron

Imagination means nothing without doing
-Charlie chaplin
Cinema is a matter of what’s in the frame and what’s out
– Martin Scorsese

Most of the good things in pictures happen by accident
– John Ford

don’t follow trends, start them!”
– Frank Capra

 

The inspiration

What i was inspired by for my posters were a mixed hybrid of many artists and styles. My main inspirations were my favourite artists and illustrators. “Tom Haugomat , Daniel Danger, and about 40 other images from pinterest) You will see the mixture of styles within my final posters.

Here is a slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All images can be found on my pinterest.

Leave a Reply

